Home Page Departments Apply/Enroll History Feedback


There are many departments at RMU. Here are some of the main ones listed and a description of the departments below.

Department of Education

Robert Morris University’s education programs develop candidates who support the intellectual, social and personal development of all students. We prepare undergraduate and graduate candidates to be sensitive educators and instructional leaders who strive to increase student learning through the integration of technology, communication skills, and the application of theory into practice to improve the teaching profession.

Department of Engineering

The RMU Department of Engineering oversees degree programs at the Undergraduate and Master's levels. The University offers the B.S. in Engineering with concentrations in Software, Industrial, Mechanical, and Biomedical Engineering, along with the B.S. in Manufacturing Engineering. The programs are accredited by The Engineering Accreditation Commission.

The M.S. in Engineering Management degree prepares students for advancements in technical and managerial fields, teaching them to integrate technical, scientific, and management knowledge, techniques and skills. In addition, a fully ONLINE option is available in M.S. Engineering Management.

The integrated BS Engineering/MS Engineering Management and BS Manufacturing Engineering/MS Engineering Management degrees allow qualified students to earn both a bachelor's degree and a master's degree on an accelerated platform. Concentrations in Software, Industrial, Mechanical, or Biomedical are available for the BS Engineering/MS Engineering Management degree.

Department of Media Arts

Studies lead either to the Bachelor of Fine Arts (B.F.A.) or to the Bachelor of Arts (B.A.) in Media Arts degree. Both degrees offer concentrations in graphic design, photography, television/video production and web design.

The Bachelor of Fine Arts degree is more specialized and intensive in the areas of concentration, with 78 credits of Media Arts coursework. The degree suits those who are clear that they wish to pursue a career in one of the four concentration areas, although they do not have to choose one until the sophomore year.

The Bachelor of Arts degree, in contrast, has 54 credits of Media Arts coursework. The remaining 24 credits are converted into open electives, allowing students to pursue a minor or broaden their studies into other areas of interest. The B.A. degree also allows transfer students to gain maximum advantage for credits completed at other institutions.